Finished Nike 10k Virtual Race

Well today is sunday and I ran the Nike virtual race yesterday before heading off to work. I work 12hr shifts and a co-worker was nice enough to work the first 4 hrs for me so I can run this race. We call those “princess” shifts! Love those 4hr shifts.

The race went really well. I wore my long sleeve shirt that I received in the mail from Nike. Nice shirt! It was chilly for me to start the race….45 degree’s. My rule is 50 degrees or higher to run. Your probably rolling your eyes…… So if I lived where it was colder, I would learn to run in cold weather. Living in Northern California, it doesn’t get that cold so why even do it if you don’t have too?

I did a trial run monday and mapped out my route. That made it easier to concentrate on running because I didn’t have to worry about where I was going. My goal was to finish under 59:00. On monday, I finished it 59:03. Yesterday, I finished it 57:55!!! The last mile I was chugging. There was a runner in front of me and I was trying to catch her!! She turned before my finish line, oh well. It worked because I finished under my goal time and PR from my first 10K.

I use to run and not care about pace/time etc. I would just cruise along. Every since Nike Women’s Marathon, I’ve had this goal in mind to pick up the pace. My current race pace goal is under 9:30/mile. I know a lot of you run wayyyy faster than me and that’s ok, I’m not sure of my end goal for pace. I’m sure that will come with time. I’m actually liking trying to pace myself faster because it pushes me harder when I’m running.

My next race is a 5k in April. I decided not to do that half marathon for this race. I heard it was a boring route.

Til next time
Tiffnee

20130404-211159.jpg

Leave a comment