Back to PR Stuff…….

I’ve gotten really great advice with letting the “PR” thing go for a bit. I think it may take some time for me. It’s funny because I use to MAKE myself run a certain pace. I tried the negative split idea but never could do it. I would start out 10 min/mi and end up with 10 min/mi at the end. I would look at my watch, see that I was running 9 min/mi and slow myself down. Then after running this last half, I’ve asked myself, why do I do that? Why am I NOT just letting myself run naturally? My last few runs, I have done just that. It has felt great!!! (Except the pace stalking I do) I Let myself run what feels comfortable for me. When I’m done, I’m in the 9 min/mi pace. Not bad. But there I go again, looking at my pace!!!! Even though I looked at it, I just kept running what was comfortable. I probably didn’t look at it as much as I normally do.

Crazyrunninggirl suggested I run without a watch. Or should I say my iphone. I have a Garmin watch but I really like the feedback the Nike+ gives back versus the Garmin. I get instant times and can look at my activity history without connecting to a computer. That is my next step, run without anything tracking my distance or pace. Part of my problem is I feel like by tracking my run’s, I get “credit” for it because it’s in permanent ink. LOL…there I go again with my type A personality!!! I like seeing my mileage on my Nike+ increasing. LOL…

Anyways, can’t run again until monday. I ran a short run yesterday, cross training day today and I’m getting ready to work 3 12 hr shifts. 😦 I was just off 6 days!!! 😦 Back to work I go. I think running with only my ipod will hopefully be the answer!!!

Til next run!! 🙂

Tiff 🙂

Leave a comment